Ayrshire Coat of Arms

The Coat of Arms for Ayrshire.

The arms were granted in 1931, having four quarters. The first has a castle from the arms of Ayr, the second has a red chevron on silver for the Carrick district, the third has a black shakefork on white for the Cunninghame district and a blue and silver fess on gold (The Stewart arms) for Kyle. The motto ':GOD SHAW THE RICHT' is from the tomb of Captain Thomas Crawford.

The IBD Home Page and each IBD County Page has or will have (where possible) the relevant Coat of Arms. This is made possible thanks to a fantastic heraldry website called the International Civic Heraldry Website. Sometimes a description is not given due to lack of information, so if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated. You may visit this superb site by using the link below.

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Valid CSS!